Legal AI tools for UK firms compared
Counsel AI costs £79 a month for one user (or £39 for 10 reviews) and runs in Word, Chrome and the browser; Clio starts at £79 per user, Writford at £69 per seat on a term and JurisOne at £149 per fee-earner, while Lexis Create+, CoCounsel and Clava quote on request.
Last checked 30 Oct 2026. Every rival cell is quoted or summarised from that vendor’s own page on that date; the source is in the last column.
Seven tools, three kinds
AI inside Microsoft 365: Lexis Create+, CoCounsel. Firm platforms with AI included: Clio, Writford, JurisOne. AI that works whole matters: Clava. Counsel AI gives cited workflow reviews and drafts in Word, Chrome and the browser, alongside the case management system you already use.
Side by side
| Product | Published price | What it is | Where it runs | Data handling (vendor’s statement) | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Counsel AI Jadthena Limited | Solo £79/month (1 user); Team £299/month (5 users); £39 for 10 reviews, no subscription. No VAT added. | Cited first reviews and drafts for UK law firms: litigation, property, commercial, data protection, employment. | Web app, Microsoft Word add-in, Chrome extension. | Hosted in Germany (Hetzner); inference by Anthropic in the USA. Not used to train models. Documents deleted after 90 days by default. | Pricing Privacy notice |
| Lexis Create+ LexisNexis UK | Not published: “Contact our team for a tailored quote.” | Legal document drafting, with the Protégé generative AI assistant. | Microsoft Word / Microsoft 365. | “Ensure your data remains private and compliant.” Hosting region and model training not stated on the product page. | lexisnexis.co.uk |
| CoCounsel Legal Thomson Reuters | Not published (free demo on request). | Legal AI for research, drafting and review. | Microsoft Word, Outlook, Teams. | “We never use it to train underlying models.” Hosting region not stated on the product page. | legal.thomsonreuters.com |
| Clio (Manage + Clio Work) Clio | Plans “start at £79 per user per month”; Clio Work add-on price on request. | Practice management with AI included; Clio Work adds legal research, analysis and drafting. | Clio platform; Clio Work works on its own or connected to Clio Manage. | “Never used for AI training”; “zero-retention agreements with LLM providers”; SOC 2 and ISO 27001. | clio.com/en-gb/pricing |
| Writford Writford | Standard £69, Premium £99, Pro £199 a month per seat (monthly equivalent, on a 1, 3 or 5-year term). | AI legal workspace for UK solicitors and small firms: research, matters, time recording and billing. | Writford workspace; Outlook (Microsoft 365) add-in. | Data “hosted in the UK”; client documents, prompts and outputs “never used to train AI models”. | writford.co.uk/pricing |
| JurisOne JurisOne Technologies Ltd | £149 per fee-earner per month, excluding VAT. | Supervised legal AI platform: matters, research, contract review, sign-off before release. | JurisOne platform; connectors for Outlook, Teams, SharePoint, iManage. | Stored and processed in UK and EU regions; “never used to train models”; Cyber Essentials certified. | jurisone.co.uk/pricing /security |
| Clava Clava | Not published (demo on request). | Legal AI for UK law firms, built in Scotland; AI “Associates” work matters for lawyer approval. | Clava platform; Associates mark up in Word. | Client data “never leaves the UK and EU”; never used to train, fine-tune or evaluate any AI model. | clava.uk /security |
Product names are trademarks of their owners. Prices and statements change; check each vendor’s page before you buy. Spotted something out of date? Email support@counsel-ai.org and we will correct it.
Questions buyers ask
Which legal AI tools for UK firms publish their prices?
On 30 Oct 2026: Counsel AI (Solo £79 a month, or £39 for 10 reviews), Clio (from £79 per user per month), Writford (from £69 a month per seat on a 1, 3 or 5-year term) and JurisOne (£149 per fee-earner per month, excluding VAT). Lexis Create+, CoCounsel and Clava quote on request.
Which of these tools work inside Microsoft Word?
Counsel AI has a Word add-in. Lexis Create+ works in Microsoft Word and Microsoft 365. CoCounsel Legal works in Word, Outlook and Teams. Clava’s Associates mark up in Word. Writford has an Outlook add-in. JurisOne connects to Outlook, Teams, SharePoint and iManage.
Do these tools use client documents to train AI models?
Counsel AI, CoCounsel, Clio, Writford, JurisOne and Clava each state on their own pages that client data is not used to train models. The Lexis Create+ product page does not address model training.
Where is the data stored?
Counsel AI hosts in Germany and sends text to Anthropic in the USA for inference. Writford states UK hosting; JurisOne and Clava state UK and EU regions. The CoCounsel and Lexis Create+ product pages do not state a hosting region.
Can I try them before paying?
Counsel AI has a 14-day free trial with no card and a free check with no account. Clio offers a 7-day free trial and Writford a 14-day free trial. Lexis Create+, CoCounsel and Clava offer demos.
Is any of these a substitute for a solicitor?
No. Counsel AI produces drafts for review by a qualified solicitor and does not give legal advice. The SRA Risk Outlook on AI says firms remain responsible and accountable for the outputs from AI they use.
